Survival Guide to the Summer – Structure

Great tips for my pre-mid-thesis blues

Narratives of Culture and Identity Research Group

by Eszter Szép

Summer is the worst. I have to start with this fact to give you guys a clear picture: you have to know that summer is the worst. Weatherwise, it is way too hot to exist. In the library there is either no air conditioning or it is freezing, or you simply do not even make it to the library. But the reason why summer is the worst is the illusion of having plenty of time to do stuff.

The biggest challenge for me is to remain productive for weeks when time is not structured, to work despite the illusion that time is endless. So here are the five points that have helped me survive the worst:

  1. Start early and listen to an audiobook.
    Case: I am not a morning person, my brain practically sleepwalks even after I get up. I can spend hours doing nothing, though…

View original post 449 more words

Leave a Reply

