Not all those who wander are lost

J.R.R Tolkien what a quote! Interestingly, this quote has a different meaning for me each day.

The examination that I’m doing about technology and other interventions, which are mainly used for wandering, is a maze. For example, yesterday I was reading about ethical subjects covering wandering in people with dementia. Whether wandering should be managed by technology or other interventions? Or should wandering be ‘managed‘ at all? However, this morning I was thinking about sociological questions and what the power relationship is between technology and wandering. What are the various perspectives from different kinds of people involved?  Is it necessary to stop those who wander for their safety or those of others?  and  the many more questions that come up with every word that I type.

Wait perhaps I am the one who is actually lost?

My research is now turned at this stage where I’m micro focusing on wandering and tracking. I miss the bigger picture and got lost in my own writing. Sometimes it is good to take a step back and ask yourself what am I doing, why am I doing this PhD and what do I want to achieve?

So I’m going to try to NOT wander off and freeze for a moment! Ask myself if I’m lost and how to get my way back. Thank you for those also writing and blogging about their experiences of doing a PhD. This has been very helpful and who knows I might read some more and ask your advice!

 

Leave a Reply

